If you have received a moving violation, you may be eligible for a deferred disposition and have your violation dismissed. However, you will lose that right if you do not request deferred on or before your court date. Deferred disposition for moving violations is normally a 90-day probationary period. During that time, you can not receive any other violations nor have any other charges filed against you.
You are not eligible for a deferred disposition on a moving violation if you:
- Are charged with:
Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit
Leaving the scene of a collision
Passing a school bus
A violation while driving in a Construction Zone when workers were present
- Have a Commercial Driver’s License, even if the violation occurred while you were driving a private vehicle
Appearance at Court Required:
You must appear at court to request a deferred disposition if:
- You are a Juvenile (under the age of 17). As a juvenile, you must appear in person with a parent or guardian on the appearance date and time on your citation.
- You are charged with a violation other than traffic. (The terms of the deferred dispositions vary depending on the type of violations, and not all violations have this option.) Deferral Requirements:
- You must have a valid Texas Driver’s License and Proof of Financial Responsibility (Liability Insurance)
- You must pay the Fine and Court Costs at the time of your request, which is on or before the appearance date on your citation
- If you are under 25 years of age, you must complete a Texas Driving Safety Course as a condition of the deferred disposition. Classes may be taken in person or on-line for the Deferred Disposition Request
Please contact the court at firstname.lastname@example.org if you have any questions about the request.